Matthew 21

As they approached Jerusalem and came to Bethphage on the Mount of Olives, Jesus sent two disciples, saying to them, “Go to the village ahead of you, and at once you will find a donkey tied there, with her colt by her. Untie them and bring them to me. If anyone says anything to you, say that the Lord needs them, and he will send them right away.”

This took place to fulfill what was spoken through the prophet:

“Say to Daughter Zion,
    ‘See, your king comes to you,
gentle and riding on a donkey,
    and on a colt, the foal of a donkey.’”[a]

The disciples went and did as Jesus had instructed them. They brought the donkey and the colt and placed their cloaks on them for Jesus to sit on. A very large crowd spread their cloaks on the road, while others cut branches from the trees and spread them on the road. The crowds that went ahead of him and those that followed shouted,

“Hosanna[b] to the Son of David!”

“Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord!”[c]

“Hosanna[d] in the highest heaven!”

10 When Jesus entered Jerusalem, the whole city was stirred and asked, “Who is this?”

11 The crowds answered, “This is Jesus, the prophet from Nazareth in Galilee.”

 

worship

I love being on the praise team at my church. I love worshiping God, I love to sing and lift up my praise to Him. I enjoy leading the congregation to a place of worship. To see the whole congregation to stir and come close to God is so awesome!

I believe that was what was happening in today’s passage. The Holy Spirit was moving within the people. They were all caught up in the moment, praising and worship the God who created us, who gave us Jesus.

Unfortunately these same people who were praising Jesus and honoring Him as King in of their lives one day, were shouting out for his crucifixion the next.

I hope that is never me. I hope that I never just get caught up in the moment of my worship of God on Sunday morning then by Monday I am ungrateful, discouraged and frustrated with the same God who I praised the day before.

It is really easy to just get caught up in emotions, but Our God is the same Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow, He never changes.

Let’s make it a point that we remain in a state of worship all week long not just on Sunday’s.

 

Leave a Reply

