Matthew 19

 “Why do you ask me about what is good?” Jesus replied. “There is only One who is good. If you want to enter life, keep the commandments.” Matthew 19:17

If someone asked you,” Can I be good enough to go to heaven?” What would your response be. Can we possibly earn our way into heaven? Can any person ever be good enough to enter eternal life with Christ.

The answer is no…. We are not good enough on our own power to make it to heaven. It is not by our actions alone that we are able to one day live in heaven with Christ.

There is only One who is good and that is God himself. We are all flawed individuals who make mistakes. We are not perfect because we have all sinned.

I must remember that I need Christ in order to make it to heaven. It is not by my good deeds, It is not by my loving nature, it is not by my will that I will have the chance at eternal life. It is by Christ.

Real Goodness.

Not all the things I do is bad, however if I am honest with myself. True Goodness comes from God. I can and will do my best to live my life to the best of my ability. I will try and follow the 10 commandments. I will surrender myself to God in whatever means He feels is necessary. But there is nothing I can do to deserve the right to enter heaven. I can accept God in my life,believe in Him,  ask for forgiveness from Him, be baptized into His name saying that I will live my life devoted to Him and than continue to do so. Even after all that is said and done I don’t deserve heaven. It is by His grace that I can enter heaven. It is God’s riches at Christ expense that allows me to have the chance to be with God in an everlasting wonderful life.

Dear Lord, It is only for your goodness that I am able to have a chance to enter heaven. Thank you for your Holy Spirit that gives us wisdom to understand your word. Help me to lean on you as I am living my life, so that I may be completely surrendered to your will. In Jesus’ name amen.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

